Space Marine Bolter – Pt3

25 04 2010

Previously I’ve posted about my attempt to make a model of a Space Marine bolt gun from the Warhammer 40,000 universe.  I got an opportunity yesterday to work on it some more, using foam core as the modeling material.  I had previously built up the main body of the gun, but decided that the outer shell was a little too short.  I don’t really have any proper measurements or anything, so I’m making it up as I go.  Rather than being extremely accurate about the whole thing, I’m pretty much learning the tools and working out some techniques.  I’ve not attempted any of this stuff before, so I have plenty of expectations of mistakes.

So yesterday I continued the build, sneaking into work and using the big tables as a workbench.  I managed to re-build the outer shell and also put together the main part of the magazine.  I also started working on the handle and trigger, but I’m not 100% sure I am happy with my method, so I’m not showing you that yet.  If only I could get a decent toy gun to use as a base.  Alas, buying life-like toy guns in Australia is next to impossible.  Thanks bank robbers! Bastards.

Another problem, apart from the handle, is the slide on the base of the gun. I have NO idea how I’m going to do that.  I started it yesterday, but it turned out pretty badly.  I’ll have to re-think it.  Anyway, I’ll no doubt let you know how it turned out, next time.

Bolter Build Progress

Magazine

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

