Space Marine Bolter – Pt1

11 04 2010

I got the idea to make a Space Marine bolter.  Space Marines are characters from the Games Workshop Warhammer 40000 universe.  Big, genetically modified humans living in the 40th millennium, the Space Marines defend humanity against the threat of aliens, and the mutated powers of Chaos.

Wearing huge suits of armour, the main weapon of the Space Marine is the bolt gun, or bolter.  A machine gun that fires rocket powered bullets, the Bolter is a powerful force on the futuristic battlefield.

Creating a Bolter will be a massive challenge for me.  I haven’t done anything like it before.  The idea is to create it from foam core, which is a light piece of foam sheeting layered with card.  It should be easy to cut and shape, and yet strong enough to hold its form.  I’ll tape it together and glue it with epoxy, then hopefully fill the insides with expanding foam or something.   Maybe once it’s done I’ll cast it in resin or something.  That’s a whole other skill set I don’t have yet, and I haven’t really thought that far ahead.

I’ve drawn up some plans to cut it out by, and made a miniature paper model to see how it all fits together. The sticking point at the beginning will be the handle.  I’ll take a look in some toy shops tomorrow to see if I can find a toy gun I can butcher to make a nice handle base.   Toy guns are pretty hard to come by around here though, especially ones of a decent size.   I might have to sculpt it out of board and shape it with putty or something.  I really don’t want to do that though.   Anyway, here’s a couple of pics of the small-scale paper model.

40K Marine

Paper Bolter

Paper Bolter Assembled

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

