Dexter’s Blood Slide Box – Slides

3 04 2010

I had some time to finish making the slides for my slide box.  Using a combination of black & red paint, I added a few drops to each side and pressed them together.  Once they’d dried out they had the brownish-black look for dried up blood that I needed.  I did earlier try some red ‘Horror Blood’ I bought from a costume store, but it was way too light.  I mixed it with a little bit of glue to thicken it up, but when it dried it came out far too pink.  The paint worked best, at least for me.  Your mileage may vary.

Blood Slides

Trophies

Box

Actions

Information

7 responses

26 09 2010
Ryan

What kind of paint did you use? Ive tried that before and eventually the water left with a very bad looking slide…I’ve tried a bunch of ways. Hopefully you have figured out something that works.

26 09 2010
savessh

I just used a mix of red & black acrylic paint. I used it straight out of the tube and didn’t thin it at all.

29 11 2010
kweektest

use blood from a mouse?

16 10 2012
Dexter

Where did you purchase the plastic slides? I’m being Dexter this Halloween and the blood slides are an essential element to the character. If you could help me out with this information I would greatly appreciate it thanks.

16 10 2012
Dexter

Sorry if you get this comment twice something happened with my computer and I wanted to be sure you got my question:

Where did you purchase the plastic slides? I’m being Dexter this Halloween and the blood slides are an essential element to the character. If you could help me out with this information I would greatly appreciate it thanks.

16 10 2012
savessh

The slides are glass, not plastic.

18 10 2012
Dexter

Ok cool didn’t know that actually. Where did you get them?

Leave a Reply

